Working on Video Review of Adobe Premiere Pro CS4

cs4_premiere_pro_11In the past six months I have been watching the convergence of photography and videography in higher-end digital SLR’s.   While point & shoot cameras have had the ability to capture video they have never rivaled a camcorder in any way other than convenience.    This changed back in October when Nikon announced the D90 DSLR and Canon soon followed with their announcement of the EOS 5D Mark II.    Since then Panasonic has joined in with the announcement of their DMC-GH1, a camera that will soon be shipping.

What makes these camera’s so unique for video is that they combine HD video with the the flexibility of interchangeable lenses as well as the ability to control depth of field (aka depth of focus).   Pop on a fast f/1.8 or f/2.8 lens and you’ll be able to create some incredible pull-focus effects never before seen in a consumer priced video camera.

At the same time that these new video-capable cameras were hitting store shelves, Adobe released their latest versions of Adobe Photoshop CS4 and Premiere Pro CS4.  These two mediums (photo and video) when used together can take a photography business to the next level and Adobe is hoping that the software they use will be theirs.

While I have used many video editing software packages over the past year, the introduction to the new Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 left me in somewhat unfamiliar territory.   What I found amazing is that a powerful (and expensive) application like this doesn’t even come with a manual.  Yes, Adobe offers some basic getting started video’s on their website and there are a other video clips scattered around the web, but none of them gave me the full understanding of what this sofware could do.   My last resort was to sign up for Lynda.com, an online software training website.

After watching a couple of hours worth of video training on Premier Pro CS4 and spending countless hours more editing video, trying new features, and using the new media encoder to render out final video’s I feel I am now ready to start my review.  In the next few days I will be working on multiple video’s highlighting the workflow and capabilities of Premiere Pro CS4  along with mentioning some of its limitations.

Stay tuned…

3 Responses to “Working on Video Review of Adobe Premiere Pro CS4”

  1. Ron
    I look forward to your subsequent posts. I am on the cusp of purchasing Premiere Pro and have been overwhelmed by amount of conflicting information on the web, so I am delighted to follow someone who is actually using the program. I do have a few questions that I hope your future posts will cover:

    1. Your views on PC vs Mac as a platform for Premiere Pro.
    2. The specifications of the computer that you are using to edit.
    3. Your insights on issues of HD management. (My edited video will be going on to web pages so while I would like to be recording in HD the output will be in a much compressed format.)
    4. The attraction of Adobe for me comes from its integration among its family of programs, Photoshop, Soundbooth, etc. Do you find this association a valuable feature?

    Ken

  2. Ken,

    A decision on which program is best really seems to depend on the video format you’ll be editing. Most of what I edit are either 1080i AVCHD files (Canon HG10 Camcorder) or 1080p MOV files (Canon EOS 5D Mark II). I have a copy of Premiere Pro CS4 for the PC, but will download a trial version for the Mac in order to be able to offer some comparisons.

    Like you, most of my video is converted to 720p for web use. I currently upload most of my video to Vimeo, some to Smugmug, and a few here and there to Youtube. When it comes to managing all these HD clips, I am still trying to figure out what to do with all the RAW footage once they’ve been edited. I am contemplating getting a Drobo in order to have growing capacity, however with HD video, even that is a somewhat temporary solution.

    One of the nice features of Premiere Pro CS4 is the ability to take in layered files from Photoshop, edit audio in Soundbooth, integrate with Adobe After Effects and have them all work together. In theory this is great, in practical terms each of these apps are very memory intensive so running these apps simultaneously isn’t practical unless you’re running them on a 64-bit system with a lot of memory (8GB+).

    I will try to answer as many of your questions in my upcoming review. For now, I can tell you that the PC I am running Premiere Pro on is a Dell Inspiron 530 with 500GB drive, 4GB memory, XP Professional (SP3), and an Iomega 1TB Firewire drive setup as a RAID drive (Mirrored). The other answers will hopefully come very shortly.

  3. Hi
    Is there anyone here can give some helping to know how to fix the problem with CS4.

    I have a problem with that solution, I Mixed 2 different kind of video together, one is a Analogue Video 8mm and the Other is a digital video 16:9 and after finishing the editing Process and after I Burnt the video on DVD, the widescreen was showing Properly on the screen however the analogue Part is shrinked from the 2 sides. So Can you Please Provide me with the solution to fix the shrinked and make the analogue video unshrinked .

    thank you so much for your help.

Leave a Reply

