Cinematic Stories, the beginning

Since purchasing the EOS 5D Mark II late last year I have once again become hooked on video. Over the past 12 years or so I have been very much a photographer. First as a hobbyist, then as a reviewer and writer for Cameratown.com – a site I launched back in 2004 – and now as a professional event photographer. While I was an amateur videographer back in the mid 80’s, the magic of video subsided a bit as my daughter got older. After all, how many hours of video was I really going to watch in 20 years.

With the introduction of the Canon EOS 5DMKII and its ability to capture high-definition (full HD @ 1080p) video, using it’s huge 35mm sensor, a whole new world of video has once again opened up, giving me the ability to capture video with a very cinematic feel to them.

Without going into details, the larger image sensors found in digital SLR’s, combined with the variety of fast interchangeable lenses, allow video to have a shallow depth-of-field (DOF) normally only found in feature films. Shallow DOF gives the camera operator a means to control the viewers eye, by determining which parts of the scene will be sharp and which will be blurred. This feature, along with the amazing low-light capability of the new DSLR’s, has once again turned me into a videoholic.

I have always used music and photographs to tell stories. Whether it was making a ‘mix’ tape in high school to let my girlfriend know how I felt or putting music with my photographs to help make the viewing experience more impacted and hopefully emotional. Regardless of the medium I have always wanted the viewer to feel something when they view my work. Now, I am taking cinema quality video and providing brides & grooms with more than just video from their wedding day.

Another professional photographer and I have teamed up to created a new company called Cinematic Stories. The company is focused on capturing weddings and engagements and we are off to a great start. Since launching the company a couple of months ago we have been fortunate enough to capture the love stories of some beautiful brides & grooms.

One Response to “Cinematic Stories, the beginning”

  1. Barbara Allen Says:

    I have watched a lot of your work and tutorials. I wonder if you would recommend a video editor program. I need help deciding which program can do the things I want to do. Just started doing free trials, but since I’m so new to this it takes me a while to figure out the best way to do things. I’m doing home movies, and I envision doing two things in particular. One is I want to be able to zoom into a face and put the face (snap pic) into a frame or shape and move it. Pinnacle does this with their Creative Pack Add Ons (possibly otherwise, too) The Winter Pack, ornaments. This shows a still being encased in a Xmas ornament, while turning a 360, more orn’s joining it all turning in a circle. It also does something similar in Prem.Pk wedding2, where the scene is captured and turns into a framed moving object, transitions, I believe. However Pinnacle seems to be limited to doing it only their way. I’ve never seen anything quite like them in the other programs, although some Vegas Pro tutorials looks like it can be done, but the cost! The other thing I want to do is have 3 or 4 videos overlapping (faded edges) at the same time, but not in squares or split screen etc. More like a video montage, probably using masks. I am really hoping PD can do it Ple-e-ease, can you help me?

Leave a Reply

